GenY to the Xpower


TGIF by Valerie Hoven
February 20, 2010, 6:38 am
Filed under: Life | Tags: , ,

It’s actually Saturday now, but even after midnight on a Friday night/Saturday morning feels like a Friday still. And this is just what I was waiting for – a moment of NOTHING! No commitments. Well, I do have to wake up to go couch shopping in the morning, but I’m looking forward to that.

Today was a great Friday. Everything at work that had me worried worked out in the end. Management realized the importance of intranet communications (job security) and I was given a realistic deadline for completing the taxonomy on all the medical service lines on our new Web site (it was taking much, much longer than anticipated). But I’ve learned a lot in the process, and I’m doing it all right, and I’m even doing keywords and meta descriptions! It’s exciting to do Web beyond intranets.

Anyone else find it flattering to be called a geek? I get flattered only because I am actually NOT a geek, but only from the Generation Y. So when a non-GenYer asks about anything about technology, I appear to be a “geek” because I know how to print to PDF. Example: Today,  someone asked me why an iTunes song wouldn’t play in their movie they were trying to make online, and I explained how iTunes songs are MP4s, and nothing other than Apple products takes that format, so a conversion was required to make it an MP3, and someone said “wow, that sounds like a lot of geek talk.” It’s not really though, is it? And the person who asked me about it said a a file conversion sounded too complicated. And, I’m not even sure my answer was correct. I should have Googled it. Ahh, lives of the non-GenY ! Always Google it first!

When I got home, I did part of my homework then fell asleep. When I woke up, I had a few invites to go out, but after trying on three outfits, I looked too fat, so I stayed in. Wearing sweat pants and eating the rest of the box of chocolate chip muffins while watching Mystery Science Theater 3000 is the perfect end to a stressful week and the perfect beginning to a relaxing weekend!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

