GenY to the Xpower


Presentation help needed! by Valerie Hoven
May 28, 2010, 2:31 pm
Filed under: Healthcare, HIT, tech

So my last post was my far my most popular post ever, and I wanted to follow up with something super cool (ie my presentation from AAMC), but I don’t have the proper chord to upload the audio.

Anyway, in my job, I can spend one day entirely on intranet and one on IT comms. It might be because I’m so talented that my role expands across all practices at the hospital because all departments need me. Or it’s because I’m young and the lowest on the totem pole here, so I get the “scraps” of jobs. 🙂 Either way, it’s working out. But it means that sometimes my blog is all over the place! Hence the Gen Y name. Like the typical 20-something, both me and my job cannot be defined with a title.

While we’re still working on relaunching our intranet, I’ve been knees deep in IT communications. I was put on a new project that is so huge that I can’t even wrap my head around it. The project is really an “idea” of sorts on how to improve the patient experience through better processes and more efficient IT programs. Sounds right up my alley! Except my role is to explain that in a graphic. In my research I was introduced to Prezi. Anyone used this? I like it, but if it goes for too long I get dizzy. I want an easy program where I can do some animations of sorts. Suggestions?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Two books I strongly recommend before you decide on “what program” to use for presentations.
1) PresentationZen by Garr Reynolds
2) Back of the Napkin by Dan Roam
I’m going to Roam’s seminar in San Francisco in June.
Both focus on communicating complex ideas in a compelling way but their point is on how to keep it simple without “dumbing down.”

Comment by Linda Galindo

now i have to read??? 😉
good luck in san francisco!

Comment by Valerie Hoven




Leave a Reply

